Sunday, May 9, 2010

NZFC All Stars full of attacking flair

NZFC All Stars full of attacking flair

A bevy of strikers and attack-minded midfielders has given a dangerous look to the NZFC All Stars named today to play New Zealand' A' at the end of the All Whites domestic camp this Sunday.

Seule Soromon and Tim Myers will both line up for the NZFC All Stars. Photosport

May 3, 2010

AUCKLAND – A bevy of strikers and attack-minded midfielders has given a dangerous look to the NZFC All Stars named today to play New Zealand' A' at the end of the All Whites domestic camp this Sunday.

Co-coaches Paul Posa and Neil Emblen have named four out-and-out strikers including YoungHeart Manawatu's golden boot winner Seule Soromon, former All Whites Brent Fisher from Waitakere United and Team Wellington's one-cap international Greg Draper.

Canterbury United striker Russell Kamo ensures the South Island goal scoring stocks are well represented, and there is an attacking edge within the midfield ranks where recent All Whites Chad Coombs, Jason Hayne (both Auckland City) and Allan Pearce (Waitakere) are joined by exciting Canterbury prospect Tom Lancaster and Otago United stalwart Andy Coburn.

The match is quickly shaping as the last chance for players on both sides to impress All Whites coach Ricki Herbert as he puts the fills the remaining spaces in his squad of 23 for South Africa.

For the All Stars Hayne and Coombes, who may play as a fullback, may be the most likely to force their way in with a strong performance but there are plenty of New Zealand 'A'  players, including Aaron Scott and James Pritchett who were drafted into the current All Whites camp, with points to prove.

With Ricki Herbert declaring there were "four or five" spots still available for players making a case for inclusion in his World Cup squad, All Stars co-coach Neil Emblen thought Sunday's match was a great way for candidates to make their closing statement.

"It's exciting for everybody. It's a great concept and good for both camps," Emblen said.

"It says the All Whites squad is not finalised and there's still some spots up for grabs if someone makes a late run."

"There's some lads training with the All Whites at the moment and some guys who have been in recent squads but will be with the All Stars. Ricki's casting his eye over everyone and asking them all who wants it most."

Goalkeepers Jacob Spoonley and James bannatyne who have both been in camp with the All Whites this week will share the gloves for the All Stars leaving Mark Paston and Glen Moss to do the same for New Zealand  'A'.

The All Stars squad also has an eye on the future, with Ian Hogg, Tim Myers and Adam McGeorge all eligible for New Zealand's next 2012 Olympic campaign.
Waitakere duo Benjamin Totori and Roy Krishna were unavailable for selection, returning back to the Solomon Islands and Fiji respectively this week following the conclusion of Waitakere's NZFC and O-League seasons.

The match kicks off at 2pm Sunday at North Harbour Stadium. Tickets are available from Ticketmaster.

NZFC All Star XI
James Bannatyne (Team Wellington)
Jacob Spoonley (Auckland City)

Chad Coombes (Auckland City)
Adam Cowan (YoungHeart Manawatu)
Ian Hogg (Auckland City)
Tim Myers (Waitakere United)
Jason Rowley (Waitakere United)

George Barbarouses (Hawke's Bay United)
Jake Butler (Waitakere United)
Andy Coburn (Otago United)
Jason Hayne (Auckland City)
Tom Lancaster (Canterbury United)
Adam McGeorge (Auckland City)
Allan Pearce (Waitakere United)

Greg Draper (Team Wellington)
Brent Fisher (Waitakere United)
Russell Kamo (Canterbury United)
Seule Soromon (YoungHeart Manawatu)

New Zealand 'A' (from): Mark Paston, Glen Moss, Aaron Scott, James Pritchett, Tony Lochhead, Dave Mulligan, Ben Sigmund, Ivan Vicelich, Andy Barron, Leo Bertos, Jeremy Brockie, Tim Brown, Aaron Clapham, Cole Peverley, Costa Barbarouses, Shane Smeltz.

New Zealand 'A' v NZFC All Stars
North Harbour Stadium
Sunday 9 May

No comments:


Share |