Saturday, May 8, 2010

Olympique de Marseille Win 2009-10 Ligue 1 Title

Olympique de Marseille became French champions for the first time since 1991-92 when they defeated Stade Rennais  this morning, picking up the Ligue 1 crown for the first time since league reconstruction earlier in the millennium and for ninth time overall.

For the nation's best supported club to go so long without a title is a real quirk of history, but the man who has brought the glory days back to Stade Velodrome has been Didier Deschamps, who has helped les Phoceens beat off a clutch of teams for the crown, though ultimately it was Auxerre who pushed OM closest.

The club from Burgundy needed to beat Olympique Lyonnais at Stade Gerland to take the title to the penultimate weekend, but despite taking the lead they would slip to a 2-1 defeat, presenting OM with the chance of glory in front of their own fans.

Deschamps' men grabbed it, opening the scoring after four minutes through Gabriel Heinze. Jimmy Briand's leveller threatened to spoil the party, but goals deep in the second half from Mamadou Niang and Lucho Gonzalez kicked off a jubilant night in the port city.

Champions' Spirit

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Ale le bleu de Marseille. Ces't tres boone nouvelle.



Share |